How to Use Time Machine on Mac

Time Machine – utility that appeared in Mac OS X Leopard. It is intended to prevent loss of files and system damage. When you use the TM (by default) at any time you will be able to restore the state of your system, in which it was an hour ago with all the files, data and settings.

So how to use it?

Standard settings of Time Machine are really simple.

You run the application or find Time Machine in System Preferences. After that you can see a window (taken in El Capitan):

How to use time machine

But there are a couple of important points that must be understood for proper and convenient easy work with Time Machine:

Tacking Space

At the first backup (by default) it takes as much as the system with all files. Subsequent backups weigh much less, since they only store changes and new files.
If allocated space for backups is over, the system deletes old backups replacing them with new ones.
In view of the above, you can use a few tricks:

  1. Keep backups on an external hard drive.
  2. Limit space for Time Machine. Let’s say, you have an external hard of 500 GB, you want to occupy the TM up to 100 GB. To do this, divide your drive into sections one of which will be 100 GB and configuring TM specify it, not the whole. So upon reaching the 100GB system begins deleting old backups.
  3. In TM is an option to exclude files and folders from backup, it is a useful feature if you know that e.g. “Downloads” folder is full of temporary files. It weighs a lot, but the content is not very important in this case, there is a sense to exclude it from backups.
  4. The frequency of backups. By default, backup created every hour, based on your needs, you can change this setting.